Long Overdue (or “Christmas in March”)

Oslojul
Oslojul
I celebrated Christmas last year as I always do, with family in Oslo, complete with all my favourite decorations.

Oslojul
Christmas morning we watched Tri orisky pro popelku (Three Wishes for Cinderella) as we do every year. I will never grow tired of that sassy, bow and arrow wielding Cinderella. The pink girl with a basket hanging on the tree is one of my favourite ornaments which I have had since childhood.

Oslojul
Oslojul
Oslojul
Three sisters, arranged according to age.

Oslojul
Oslojul
Oslojul
Another gift was the first volume of Laila Duran’s Scandinavian Folklore. It is such a great book, full of photographs of and articles about Scandinavian national dress.

Oslojul
I was gifted another ornament this Christmas: inaccurate Lord Nelson. (I still love him, though!)

Oslojul
Oslojul
We celebrated New Year’s at my cousin’s house, playing boardgames to pass the time until midnight, and as per usual, the grown ups were the loudest and most competitive.

Oslojul
Oslojul
My first actions of the new year were to pincurl my hair and visit the fortress, which is one of my favourite places in Oslo. It was still covered in snow and dressed for Christmas with a wheatsheaf.

Leave a Reply

